Contact Us
Make My Homepage

Nirvana ‘In Utero’ Tribute Album to Feature Thursday, Circa Survive, Daughters + More

'In Utero: In Tribute'
Robotic Empire

On Sept. 13, 1993, Nirvana released what would become their final studio album, ‘In Utero.’ The influence of ‘In Utero’ and the rest of Nirvana’s discography are still very present, and many celebrated rock and metal acts have teamed up to record ‘In Utero: In Tribute’ just in time for Record Store Day.

This Nirvana tribute album is different from the ones you may have heard before. Perhaps the most famous Nirvana tribute record to date is the 2004 release ‘World’s Greatest Tribute to Nirvana,’ which features iconic acts such as Dee Dee Ramone, Venom and Iggy & the Stooges. ‘In Utero: In Tribute,’ however, mirrors the track listing of the original Nirvana masterpiece exactly, with 12 bands covering the album’s 12 songs.

The tribute record features a version of ‘Rape Me’ performed by Thursday, a cover of ‘Scentless Apprentice’ by Circa Survive,’ a recording of ‘Radio Friendly Unit Shifter’ played by Daughters + others.

Robotic Empire will unleash the tribute album both digitally and on vinyl beginning Record Store Day, which falls on April 19 this year.

“It has been a privilege to introduce so many unique bands to likeminded freaks over the past 15 years,” says Robotic Empire head Andy Low. “Looking back at what’s transpired almost seems unreal, and even with a shameful carbon footprint of many thousand plastic circles – I can safely say that it has been an honor to work with the artists we have, and a hearty thank you is due to all who’ve listened thus far. I genuinely hope you’ll enjoy this tribute to one of the bands who first showed me the strange side of music. Nirvana was truly one of the greats, and we’ve done our best to craft an appropriate homage to so many people’s all-time favorite band.”

See the track listing for ‘In Utero: In Tribute’ below. To pre-order a digital copy of the album, click here.

‘In Utero: In Tribute’ Track Listing:

01 – Pygmy Lush – “Serve The Servants“
02 – Circa Survive – “Scentless Apprentice“
03 – These Arms Are Snakes – “Heart-Shaped Box“
04 – Thursday – “Rape Me“
05 – Jay Reatard – “Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle“
06 – Young Widows – “Dumb“
07 – Mean Jeans – “Very Ape“
08 – Thou – “Milk It“
09 – Whirr – “Pennyroyal Tea“
10 – Daughters – “Radio Friendly Unit Shifter“
11 – Ceremony – “Tourette’s“
12 – Black Math Horseman – “All Apologies“

Crying Statue of Nirvana's Kurt Cobain Unveiled in Aberdeen

Best of Rock 108

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for ROCKAHOLICS quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive ROCKAHOLICS contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.