New Texas State Laws That Went into Effect September 1st 2013
Because of the Labor Day holiday, some of you might have missed the fact that new Texas laws went into effect as of September 1st, 2013. In case you haven’t had a chance to check out some of the over 600 laws passed, here’s a rundown of some of the more notable ones.
NOTE: SB stands for Senate Bill while HB stands for House Bill.
SB 393 - Student Tickets
If you have a kiddo in school, this is one you need to know about. School resource officers will no longer be allowed to issue misdemeanor citations to students for acting out. Now, it’ll be up to a judge to decide if a complaint is bad enough to be a misdemeanor.
SB 329 - No Tanning for Minors
You can no longer use a tanning booth unless you are over the age of 18 regardless of whether you have a parent or guardian with you.
SB 510 - Moving Over for TXDOT Vehicles
We already have a law in place to move over for police, fire, tow trucks and other emergency vehicles. Now, drivers are required to move over for TXDOT vehicles with flashing lights. That means you either have to get out of the lane that runs alongside the vehicle, or slow down to 20 miles per hour below the posted speed limit.
HB 3668 - Stop and Render Aid
If you get into a wreck, and you think the other driver is hurt but don't check on them, you could get up to 10 years in prison.
SB 275 - Hit and Run Fatality
Hit-and-run fatality crashes will now carry the same penalty as intoxication manslaughter, up to 20 years in prison. So, if you think that leaving the scene of an accident because you are drunk is a lesser charge, you might want to think again.
SB 181 - Showing Insurance on Cell Phone
Don't have your insurance card handy? It's no longer a problem if you have a smart phone or other communication device. The law also states that showing your proof of insurance this way does not constitute consent for a law enforcement officer, or any other person, to access the contents of the wireless communication device except to view the financial responsibility information. (This law became effective in April of 2013)
HB 124 - Some Salvia is Now Controlled Substance
Specifically, salvia divinorum has been added to the list of controlled substances, however, this does not include all types of salvia.
SB 1191 - Rape Kit
All Texas emergency rooms are required to have rape kits.
HB 625 - Not Displaying License Plates
If you are busted for not displaying your two license plates on a highway, you could get up to a $200 fine.