With no rain and very hot temperatures across the Big Country, several counties have put up fireworks bans.  So far here in Abilene (Taylor County), the fireworks display is still on. Click through for a complete list of displays still on,  as well as the counties under the fireworks ban.


Honestly, with all of the fires that have scorched much of Texas, I would not be surprised to see the Abilene display canceled as well.  Not that I don't want to see fireworks, but because it's just that bad out there and people are losing their stuff because of the wild fires.

Trust me, I love setting off fireworks.  It doesn't matter how old I get, I will always love setting them off.  However, I am not against NOT shooting them off this year for safety reasons.  Sure, it will suck but if that is the worst problem someone can have, then they have bigger problems.

Anyway,  here is the complete list of fireworks displays and bans:

Fireworks Displays Still On

  • Abilene
  • Breckenridge
  • Comanche
  • Snyder
  • Roscoe
  • Lake Leon

Fireworks Displays Canceled

  • Tye
  • Cisco

Fireworks Bans -Sale And Use

  • Callahan County
  • Fisher County
  • Haskell County
  • Jones County
  • Nolan County
  • Scurry County
  • Shackelford County
  • Stephens County
  • Stonewall County
  • Taylor County

Aerial Fireworks Bans Only

  • Brown County
  • Coleman County
  • Eastland County
  • Mitchell County
  • Runnels County