Bad News For Religious Hipsters, Eucharist Can’t Be Gluten-free
If you’re trying to keep that gluten-free diet and be a good Catholic, bad news for you.
It always amazes me how humans went for ages not worrying about having gluten in their diets, and now it seems like almost everything out there has a gluten-free option for you. Now, it looks like people were even looking for a gluten-free way to receive their Holy Communion during Mass. Sadly, it looks like those enjoying their gluten-free life may want to step away from the Eucharist.
In a letter sent out by the Vatican, Cardinal Robert Sarah reminded bishops to watch the quality of the bread that is used during the Holy Communion.
“The bread used in the celebration of the Most Holy Eucharistic Sacrifice must be unleavened, purely of wheat, and recently made so that there is no danger of decomposition. It follows therefore that bread made from another substance, even if it is grain, or if it is mixed with another substance different from wheat to such an extent that it would not commonly be considered wheat bread, does not constitute valid matter.”
The letter flat out states that Eucharist that is completely gluten-free is “invalid matter” but low-gluten bread is okay as long it has enough gluten to make bread without adding foreign materials or using processes that would alter it.
Read more about this at the Vatican Radio website.